Workshop Blanes March 2019

Aedes Invasive Mosquitoes:

Linking Citizen Science to Epidemiological Models

Organisers:

Frederic Bartumeus (Local Host, CSIC Spain)

Sander Koenraadt (WU, The Netherlands)

Beniamino Caputo (U. Sapienza, Italy)

Local Team / Co-organisers:

John Palmer, Roger Eritja, David Alonso, Santi Escartin

 

INTRODUCTION: Invasive mosquito data collection systems are moving from traditional surveillance, with oviposition and adult traps (e.g. ovitraps, BG-sentinels, sticky traps), and socio-ecological surveys, to massively networked citizen science by means of internet and smartphones. This opens a new opportunity to collect mosquito data in new ways and at an unprecedented level of detail, both in time and space. One critical aspect of citizen science programs is the so-called fitness for use, that is, the fine-tuning of data types, quality, and sampling strategies to address specific research and management purposes. Another challenge is exploit at best digitized information by aggregating large amounts of data from different sources and projects, each one with their own data characteristics (data acquisition methods, accuracy, etc).

 

Whether they involve minimal training and target a large population of potential volunteers, or require the acquisition of new skills and their application to a specific community and site of intervention, these and similar experiences suggest that innovations in citizen science can effectively enhance mosquito surveillance and, in the process, globalize datasets and create new channels of communication between experts and citizen in affected areas. However, what about the “science” these kind of data can provide? Can we improve models and predictions with citizen science data collection? How do we need to work out data quality, accuracy, and biases? Is it possible to combine authoritative and citizen mosquito-related datasets? How?

 

OBJECTIVES: The main purpose of this workshop is to identify the challenges of establishing direct links between citizen science data collection programs and epidemiological modelling, with particular emphasis in risk map development and outbreak forecasting. To do so, we will: (i) discuss and revise current data collection systems, both traditional and citizen science, (ii) illustrate potential biases in both systems and potential ways to combine different data types for research (e.g. data calibration, quality assessments, model validations), and (iii) introduce fundamental aspects of epidemiological models in order to discuss data collection “fitness for use” to epidemiological modelling.

 

OUTPUTS:

  • Organizers will produce an opinion/review work, with explicit acknowledgement to COST ACTION funds and participants, with the outputs of this discussion to guide future and current citizen science programs towards more effective data collecting strategies for scientific modelling purposes.

 

  • We will also produce an open document with the main conclusions of our meeting. The document will be shared among all the AIM COST ACTION participants, and will be outreached in different web platforms of interest (e.g. ECSA, ECDC, COST ACTION).
Mosquitos

 

PROGRAM

 

 

Monday 25th March

Tuesday 26th March

Wednesday 27th March

TOPIC

Data Collection Types and Strategies

Linking Data to Epidemiological Models

Interoperability and Calibration

9:30-10:30

Attendants' Brief Introduction

Short Talks

Interoperability and Calibration

10:30-11:15

Topic Introduction

Sampling Bias: scales and strategies

Short Talks

11:15-11:45

Coffee

Coffee

Coffee

11:45-12:45

EU CitSci Programs

Statistical Modelling (MaxENT, RF, spatial regression)

Funding & Future Opportunities

12:45-13:15

ECDC and Country-level Authorized Data

Mechanistic Modelling (SEIR, Ross-MacDonald)

Synthesis

13:30-14:45

Lunch

Lunch

Lunch

15:00-16:30

Data Types, Goals and Biases (Discussion)

Linking CitSci to Epidemiological Models (Discussion)

 

16:30-17:00

Coffee

Coffee

 

17:00-18:00

Synthesis

Synthesis

 

 

 

PARTICIPANTS

 

1

David Alonso

dalonso@ceab.csic.es

Centre d'Estudis Avançats de Blanes (CSIC), Spain

2

Frederic Bartumeus

fbartu@ceab.csic.es

Centre d'Estudis Avançats de Blanes (CSIC) & CREAF, Spain

3

Martin Brocklehurst

martin.brocklehurst

ECSA.Global Mosquito Alert Consortium

4

Beniamino Caputo

beniamino.caputo@uniroma1.it

U. Sapienza, Italy

5

Francisco Collantes

fcollant@um.es

Universidad de Murcia, Spain

6

Sarah Delacour

sarisil82@yahoo.es

U. Zaragoza, Spain

7

Kamil Erguler

k.erguler@cyi.ac.cy

The Cyprus Institute, Cyprus

8

Roger Eritja

reritja@elbaixllobregat.com

CREAF, Spain

9

Santi Escartin

info@xatrac.org

Associació Mediambiental Xatrac, Spain

10

Beatriz Fernández

bfernandez@isciii.es

Instituto de Salud Carlos III, Spain

11

Martina Ferraguti

mferraguti@ebd.csic.es

Estación Biológica Doñana (CSIC), Spain

12

Jordi Figuerola

jordi@ebd.csic.es

Estación Biológica Doñana (CSIC), Spain

13

Federico Filiponi

federico.filipponi@gmail.com

Independent Scientist

14

Rafael Gutiérrez López

rgutierrez@ebd.csc.es

Estación Biológica Doñana (CSIC), Spain

15

Hidde Hofhuis

hidde.hofhuis@wur.nl

Wageningen University (WUR), The Netherlands

16

Frederic Jourdain

frederic.jourdain@ird.fr

Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD), France

17

Helge Kampen

Helge.Kampen@fli.de

Federal Research Institute for Animal Health, Germany

18

Mattia Manica

mattia.manica@fmach.it

Fondazione Edmund Mach. Centro Ricerca e Innovatione, Italy

19

Miguel A. Miranda

ma.miranda@uib.es

U.Illes Balears (Mallorca), Spain

20

Aitana Oltra

aoltra@ceab.csic.es

Centre d'Estudis Avançats de Blanes (CSIC), Spain

21

John RB Palmer

john.palmer@upf.edu

U.Pompeu Fabra, Spain

22

Nadja Pernat

nadja.pernat@zalf.de

Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research, Germany

23

Christian Ries

CRIES@mnhn.lu

Musée national d'histoire naturelle (MNHN), Luxembourg

24

Ignacio Ruiz

iruizarr@gmail.com

CIBIR, Spain

25

Francis Schaffner

fschaffner.consult@gmail.com

AVIA GIS. Consultancy, France

26

Maria Jose Sierra

jsierra@mscbs.es

Centro Coordinación Alertas y Emergencias Sanitarias, Spain

27

Frederic Simard

frederic.simard@ird.fr

Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD), France

28

Carla Sousa

CASousa@ihmt.unl.pt

Instituto de Higiene e Medicina Tropical (IHMT), Portugal

29

Sandra Talavera

sandra.talavera@irta.cat.

IRTA-CReSA, Spain

30

Doreen Walther

doreen.walther@zalf.de

Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research, Germany

 

Venue

 

The workshop will be held at the Center for Advanced Studies of Blanes (CEAB), which belongs to the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC). For further information on the general research activity at the Center check the CEAB web page.